Librarians are continually being subjected to preconceived ideas of what it means to be a librarian by the general population. When I chose not to become a teacher but to become a librarian I was faced with a lot of questions. When I began telling people that I required a Masters degree in order to be successful in this endeavour, every single individual responded with some variation of “you need a Masters degree to be a librarian, don’t they just shelve books?” Or my personal favourite on the profession as a whole, “Why would you want to be old and grumpy?” Who knew that wanting to follow my passion to become a librarian automatically made me old and grumpy? I thought it would make me happy, and with almost one semester behind me I can say, yes I have loved every sleepless second of it. Librarians are seen in such a traditional way that most people don’t see the greatness of what they do and how needed they are. These preconceived ideas of what librarians do and what it means to be a librarian is reinforced in movies and literature but a new light needs to be shed on who librarians are. We won’t shush you (maybe politely remind you that you are in a shared space and to be respectful), we won’t complain about all the kids running around—they are the next generation of readers, and we won’t all wear their hair in a bun because frankly, it gives most of us a headache! And the extra surprising fact to people, we are not all women! Whatever negative ideas people have about librarians needs to be sent to the archives and a new release section made for the accurate depiction of librarians to be viewed.

