YA Fantasy…

I can’t do it, I don’t like fantasy. It’s not because I haven’t tried I have, but it’s just not for me. As a youth Harry Potter was the book that got me back into reading and here I am, studying to be a Public Librian but it’s the exception to the rule, not the rule.

When I looked at the books “Lord of the Rings” I said no way, and I still have zero desire to read them so I gave the movies a try. It’s 3 movies about people walking.  I get bored when there isn’t a battle going  on. Maybe when I’m in forties I’ll enjoy it but I saw all of them in theaters and ya it was alright, but nothing that I went crazy for– and I know I’m not in the norm.

I do appreciate young adult fiction though. I can see the influence it has had on my friends, family and peers and that it is something that has had a profound influence on them as people. Fantasy is also something that doesn’t hit morals on the head with a hammer repeatdly, it slips it in which is nice in a world where even riding the bus is telling me what to do with my life and how to be a good person. I respect young adult fiction for those that it speaks to but I’m not one of those people.

I’m always willing to take suggestions that I’ll look into trying. 

This is a link from Kevin Smith’s “Clerks 2” that sums up my feelings about LOTR.
http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=xKbyWSwd7hk

